skip to Main Content

Jack J. Sophir Arrowman of the Year Award

Jack J. Sophir Arrowman of the Year Award is given to Arrowmen who have performed outstanding service to Pathfinder Chapter. Nominate Scouts and Scouters who you believe have given distinguished service directly to the Pathfinder Chapter for at least two years. To nominate someone download the nomination form for the Jack J. Sophir Arrowman of the Year Award.

Jack J. Sophir Lifetime Achievement Award

Pathfinder Chapter also has a Jack J. Sophir Lifetime Achievement Award. This award is given to Scouters who are believed to have given a lifetime (minimum of ten years) of achievement and participation in the Order of the Arrow. The nominee must previously have received the Pathfinder Jack J. Sophir Arrowman of the Year Award. Nominate someone by downloading nomination form for the Jack J. Sophir Lifetime Achievement Award.

Jack J. Sophir Arrowman of the Year and Jack J. Sophir Lifetime Achievement Awards are presented each year at the Chapter Fellowship Banquet in February. If you believe someone is worthy of either award, nominate that person; do not expect someone else to do it, as they may go unrecognized.

Past Recipients and Resumes

Pathfinder Chapter is looking for your Scouting Resumes.  Resumes are used to help Arrowmen nominate fellow Arrowmen for these awards and for the Vigil Honor, providing information that may be required on each nomination form. Fill one out today and mail it to our Chapter Advisor, Joel Schwartz, to aid in the application process.

See below for past recipients of the Jack J. Sophir Arrowman of the Year and Jack J. Sophir Lifetime Achievement Awards.

2022 Jack J. Sophir Arrowman of the Year Award Recipients:

Lorenzo Gutting

Scout Lorenzo Gutting has shown exemplary leadership in the chapter as a member of the ceremonial team and leadership. Lorenzo came into the order full force in the ceremonial team while also serving as the Ordeal chairman. He learned his lines lightning-fast and did a fantastic job on his first performance performing both the Pre-Ordeal and Ordeal ceremony at a 2020 Induction weekend. He has steadily learned many roles and ceremonies over the past two years and is still an active member of the ceremonial team.  Loenzo is currently serving as the chapter Ordeal chairman. He is also the current SPL of his Troop (362). For his cheerful service, we wholeheartedly present Lorenzo D. Gutting the Jack J Sophir Arrowman of the year award.

Neil Maxwell

Scout Neil Maxwell has done a superb job of being involved and active in his troop and the Order of the Arrow. He has been on the ceremonial team since he was elected into the order, and has done well-performing ceremonies. He is serving in his second term as Chapter Second Vice-Chief. He is very organized and responsible in all of the roles he has taken on. Neil has been a pivotal member of the Pathfinder Chapter and he is always happy to step up and offer whatever services are needed to get the job done. He takes his involvement very seriously and is a solid member of the ceremony. It is with an exuberance that we present the Jack J Sophir Arrowman of the year award to Neil T. Maxwell.

Declan O’Leary

Scout Declan O’Leary has been a welcome addition to the chapter over the past several years.  Actively participating in chapter activities since his induction into the Order of the Arrow.  Declan began his leadership within the chapter as Troop OA Representative for a couple of years, frequently serving as an Elangomat, and is now serving as the chapter’s First Vice-Chief.  He has been an integral part of the chapter willing to step up and volunteer whenever anything is needed.  Besides his role in the chapter, he has been serving his troop (49) as Senior Patrol Leader.  For his overwhelming service to the chapter we present the Jack J Sophir Arrowman of the year award to Declan B. O’Leary.

Ben King

Eagle Scout Ben King became an active member of the chapter by attending all chapter and lodge activities.  He first served as the chapter in the role of Service chairman and then with little knowledge of building websites, Ben volunteered to become the chapter Webmaster chairman. He served for multiple years and picked up the WordPress software rather quickly. We are fortunate that he continued his service when he was elected Chapter Chief at this past Fall Reunion. Besides his chapter leadership, Ben has served his troop as Senior Patrol Leader and the Lodge as LodgeMASTER chairman and Founders Award chairman.  It is with great honor that I present to Benjamin King the Jack J sophir Arrowmen of the year award.

Lifetime Achievement Recipients:

  • Sam Racowski (2001)
  • Lou Heyman (2001)
  • Tom Luecke (2003)
  • Beth Metcalf (2006)
  • Fran Geisel (2007)
  • Jerry Geisel (2009)
  • Miles McKinney (2015)
  • Matt Beyes (2016)
  • Michael Flynn (2020)
  • David Gentle (2021)

Jack J. Sophir Awards Recipients


Jeremiah Burcher Jerry Geisel
Joe Geisel Steve Kuppinger, Jr
Steve Kuppinger, Sr. Pat Luecke
Kevin Lyons Beth Metcalf
Fran Geisel Tim Luecke
Tom Luecke Robert Lyons
Walter Zdazinsky Andrew Zumwalt
Paul Carson Andrew Finnell
Michael Flavin Jonathon Grant
Tom Lacavich
Phil Gold Sam Gold
Jeff Patrylo Mike Patrylo
Byan Ranney
Sam Racowski* Lou Heyman*
Lonnan Jaeger John Mancuso
Jeff Pastorius Tom Stuckey
John Carter Mike Flynn
Paul Lee Bill Morton
Scott A. Rowe Dennis Underwood
Tom Luecke* Matt Oberkirsch
Bradley Girard Jeff Jones
David Gentle Tim Weaver
Matt Flynn Ronnie Jacobs
Jimmy Holguin Daniel Knight
Teddy Sosna Dean Bright
Beth Metcalf* Jory Cook
Benjamin Kaufman Miles Mckinney
Fran Geisel* Matt Beyes
Dale Christiansen Dan Corce
Nick Foster
Andy Faron Dennis Gallagher
Jerry Geisel* Chris Gallagher
Heather Henderson Luke Henderson
Mark Zumwalt
Michael Andersen Jim Marshall
Michael Brown, Jr Larry Henderson
Josh Picus Sam Picus
Michael Brown, Sr John McKinney
Thomas Van Horn
2013 – View Recipient Biographies
Brendan Boyle Rebecca Anderson
Ryan Stoeckel Drew McCoy
2014 – View Recipient Biographies
Zack Becker Matthew Beyes
TJ Keith Griffin Stoeckel
2015 – View Recipient Biographies
Christopher Hahn Miles Mckinney*
Joel Schwartz
2016 – View Recipient Biographies
Ray Kreienkamp Ethan Bopp
Wyatt Arnold Tanner Voelcker
Matt Beyes*
2017 – View Recipient Biographies
Samuel Beyes Owen Fuchs
Nicole Bopp Dan Stoeckel
2018 – View Recipient Biographies
Tony Arnold Max Wild
2019 – View Recipient Biographies
Elin Asvaldsdottir Tylor Krieger
Alexander Ficken Joel Portman
2020 – View Recipient Biographies
David Dubois Michael Flynn*
Andrew McCandliss
2021 – View Recipient Biographies
Tom Coscia Patrick Hawkins
David Gentle* DeAndre Westbrook III
2022 – View Recipient Biographies
Lorenzo Gutting Neil Maxwell
Ben King Declan O’Leary
Back To Top